Clothing · Fashion · Reviews · Shopping · Vintage

Brand Spotlight: Secrets in Lace

Let’s get right into it! Intros are for wussies.

About the brand: Secrets in Lace was founded in 1984 in northern Virginia, USA. The brand offers a wide array of stockings and tights, bullet bras, and shapewear, all inspired by mid-century styles.

Claim(s) to fame: Every possible stocking style you can imagine. A variety of colors, styles, textures. Whatever kind of stockings or sheer tights you want, they probably have- and with a garter belt to match!

Price: Moderate, most items under $100(USD). 

What I bought: Classic RHT (reinforced heel and toe) stockings in shade “Espresso” $16.99.

Photo from https://secretsinlace.com

Although I’m a “small” in almost every brand everywhere, the small of these stockings was tight on my calves and pinched my toes, so I later I re-ordered and went up a size to a medium- and those fit perfectly.

Shipping:

  • Shipping was $5.95 for orders under $35
  • Items arrived within the standard 5-7 business days
  • Arrived in hella hard to open plastic mailer
  • Each order comes with a mini-catalog with all their latest product

Sounds pretty standard, right? However, as you will see below, the quality in the two orders was very different: my second pair felt rougher instead of sleek and smooth; I noticed there were already small holes and runs and the printed label was peeling off- all before I’d worn or washed them! Not sure how this happened, as the first pair was lovely.

On right (size small), on left (size medium). You can see an obvious difference as my poor leg of your left looks akin to a sausage in casing. Plus the medium arrived with multiple snags (below)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cons:

  • Not widely available- online only
  • They don’t accept Discover card or PayPal options
  • Label printed on the outside thigh of each stocking. Not a major issue but I just find it tacky.
  • No returns or exchanges on stockings (and I get it but…that really stinks if you don’t guess your size or shade juuuuust right)

Pros:

  • Variety of nude shades!!!
  • Ships internationally
  • Wide variety of sizes- the length was perfect for me. I’m no model, so when I buy stockings or tights they’re usually far too long and sag throughout the day. These didn’t!
  • Silky soft feel (well, in my first order)

Would I repurchase/recommend? Maybe. To be honest, the intent behind Secrets in Lace seems to be for men to purchase for women (there’s a hardcore…bedroom aesthetic going on) which isn’t really my thing, but it’s so hard to find a nude stockings that are a match for all complexions that I’m left with few alternatives. And I didn’t like the disparity in quality with my two orders- did I just get a dud in my second order or what? Why weren’t they uniform? Should I have picked a more expensive style? I want to love this brand but they leave me with more questions than answers…

Leave a comment